Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country’s most highly respected music journalists, the purpose of the Taite Music Prize is to recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album. The winner receives a cash prize of $12,500, to be spent as they wish – with thanks to Founding Partner, Recorded Music NZ.

Also recognised at the ceremony are the Independent Spirit Award, the Independent Music NZ Classic Record – acknowledging a defining NZ record from our yesteryear – and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut award, celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives a $2,000 cash prize, plus a performance or technical upskilling opportunity thanks to Auckland Live.

Announced in 2022, the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award is the first of its kind in Aotearoa and comes with a $2500 cash prize, thanks to Official Partner NZ On Air. The groundbreaking addition celebrates a special individual who made a creative contribution and significant impact with coverage of Aotearoa music during the year.

Find out more