Folk group T-Bone have been awarded the 2023 Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist Tūī, following the release of their debut album, Good ‘n Greasy.

Featuring Gerry Paul, Dusty Burnell, Richard Klein, Michael Muggeridge, and Aaron Stewart, T-Bone’s debut album Good ’n Greasy contains close vocal harmonies and fiery instrumentals on guitars, mandolin, banjo and fiddles, creating a unique blend of Good-Time-Americana-Kiwi-Folk.

Good ‘n Greasy debuted at No.2 on the New Zealand Album Charts in June 2022, capturing the raw energy and magic that comes when these five exceptional musicians are on stage together.

Recorded Music NZ Kaiwhakahaere o Ngā Tohu Puoro o Aotearoa Sarah Owen congratulates T-Bone on their win, announced on RNZ’s Music 101 today.

“We’re thrilled to see such a talented assembly of folk artists come together with T-Bone, so it’s no surprise to see them take out the 2023 Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa Tūī,” says Owen.

“It’s a pleasure to recognise the diverse music styles we have in Aotearoa and Good ‘n Greasy is a great representation of that, with it’s old-time, blues, and bluegrass feel. We look forward to seeing what they do next.”

The other finalists for the 2023 Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist Tūī were Butter Wouldn’t Melt for their debut album 1931 and previous Best Folk Artist finalist and 2020 Tūī winner Mel Parsons for her latest album Slow Burn.

Recorded Music NZ had planned to announce the winner at the 50th Auckland Folk Festival held over Anniversary Weekend (27th – 30th January), but due to the flooding in Auckland the announcement had to be postponed.

Comments are closed