BENEE claims the most Tui awards in back-to-back years


For the second year running, Kiwi pop juggernaut BENEE has taken home four Tui at the Aotearoa Music Awards at Spark Arena, Auckland tonight.

After making a huge splash last year, the singer songwriter has been recognised as one of New Zealand’s fastest rising stars, taking out Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau | Single of the Year for her smash hit ‘Superlonely’.

She also won Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa | Best Solo Artist and Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa | Best Pop Artist and was recognised with the International Achievement award for her global accomplishments over the last year.

Following the release of their second album Jump Rope Gazers earlier this year, Auckland indie pop band The Beths won three Tui at the awards this evening, including the coveted Te Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year. The group also won both Te Roopu Toa | Best Group and Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa | Best Alternative Artist for the second year running.

Viral sensation and international acclaimed artist Jawsh 685 has had an incredible year, with his track ‘Laxed – Siren Beat’ topping charts globally. He is the first Pasifika person and the third New Zealand person ever to top the UK Singles Chart.

Jawsh 685 won Spotify Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau | Breakthrough Artist of the Year and was the second recipient of an International Achievement award.

The supergroup collective of Rob Ruha, Ria Hall, Troy Kingi, Bella Kalolo, Majic Paora, Kaaterama Pou, the East Coast Tira Waiata sensation Ka Hao, and The Witch Doctor & Friends Mōhau were recognised with two Tui at the Aotearoa Music Awards – Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa | Best Worship Artist and Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Tui.

Summer circuit favourites L.A.B won Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Roots Artist as well as the 2020 People’s Choice Award, while Haz & Miloux took out the Tui for Te Kaipuro Awe Toa | Best Soul/RnB Artist and City of Souls won Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa | Best Rock Artist.

After winning a Tui for Best Pacific Group at the Pacific Music Awards earlier this year, hip hop duo Church & AP have taken out Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa | Best Hip Hop Artist.

Other 2020 winners include Lee Mvtthews for Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa | Best Electronic Artist, Maimoa for Te Māngai Pāho Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa | Best Māori Artist, and Andrew Beer & Sarah Watkins received Te Kaipuro Inamata Toa | Best Classical Artist.

Cementing themselves as Kiwi favourite, Six60 have secured the hattrick and won Te Toa Hoko Teitei, | Highest Selling Artist for the third consecutive year. And Drax Project have secured NZ On Air Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau | Radio Airplay Record of the Year for their song ‘Catching Feelings’ which features Six60.

Recorded Music NZ CEO Damian Vaughan says this year’s awards celebrate both newcomers and past favourites showing that the New Zealand music scene is continuing to grow and achieve great things despite COVID-19.

“It was a privilege to share a night with some of Aotearoa’s most creative musicians and celebrate their successes. There have been some major challenges posed not only to our industry, but New Zealand and the world.

“Being able to see such deserving artists receive recognition for their art is an honour and something I think we should be proud of as a nation. Not to mention the amazing line up of performances we’ve seen tonight across a range of genres, a true cross section of Aotearoa’s incredible music scene.”

The 2020 Aotearoa Music Awards were hosted by Jesse Mulligan, Sharyn Casey and Jayden King, with performances from BENEE, The Beths, CHAII, Church & AP, City Of Souls, Jawsh685, L.A.B, Mohau, Paige, Six60, Stan Walker, Tami Neilson, Tiki Taane and six special Hall of Fame performances by The Levites

For those who missed the show, the entire broadcast of the Aotearoa Music Awards and a selection clips from the live performances will be available to view on


Comments are closed